Caro Government

The City of Caro and its officers shall be vested with any and all powers and immunities, expressed and implied, which cities are or hereafter may be permitted to exercise or provide for in their charters under the Constitution and statues mandated by the State of Michigan. It shall include all the powers of cities as fully and completely as though those powers and immunities were specifically enumerated in and provided for in the City charter.

The City of Caro shall have the council-manager, non-partisan form of government. There shall be a city council consisting of six councilpersons and the mayor, who shall be deemed a member of council for all purposes. The council shall constitute the legislative and governing body of the city and shall have the power and authority to adopt such ordinances and resolutions, as it shall deem proper in the exercise of its power.

The city council meets the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:30 p.m. at the Caro Municipal Building, 317 S. State Street, unless a holiday falls on the scheduled Monday. All meetings are posted pursuant to the Open Meetings Act. The public is encouraged to attend.

Appointed Officials

The City of Caro utilizes the following positions to help in the running of the city in it's day to day operations.

Name Position

Michael Silverman

City Manager

Sara Savage

Acting Clerk/Treasurer

Gary Crews

City Attorney

Brian Newcomb

Police Chief

Randy Heckroth

Fire Chief

Jeffery Graham

Department of Public Works Superintendent

Randy Heckroth

Zoning Administrator

Curtis Wells

Waste Water Treatment Plant